Reusable OOP Progress Indicator for Excel VBA

The progress bar I wrote for Access is by and far my most popular post to date. I’ve been meaning to write one that uses a UserForm so that it would be portable to any of the Office Host Apps, but looks like a friend of mine beat me to it. You should check it out.

retailcoder

Preamble

For the past couple months I’ve been pretty (very) busy with my Rubberduck project, an open-source add-in for the VBE (the VBA IDE) packed with cool features that I encourage you to explore (see the “Features” page on the official website) – but I’m not here to talk about RD, otherwise I would have posted on Rubberduck News.

I’m here to blog about the last piece of VBA code I’ve written, in response to a recent tweet from @ExcelEasy to which I replied:

@ExcelEasy well done! #Challenge: make a more #OOP one without using the form’s default/global instance! #becausewhynot

So, building on this article, I went and implemented my own – this post is essentially a walkthrough for the ProgressIndicator class, the most recent addition to my VBTools GitHub repository.

ProgressView

Designer

First step is to create the UserForm that will be used for displaying the progress –…

View original post 1,542 more words

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

